Currently home to: Funny Girl
The theatre opened on 10 October 1881 and was built by Richard D’Oyly Carte on the site of the old Savoy Palace as a showcase for the popular series of comic operas of Gilbert and Sullivan, which became known as the Savoy operas as a result.
The theatre was the first public building in the world to be lit entirely by electricity. In 1889, Richard D’Oyly Carte built the Savoy Hotel next to the theatre. For many years, the Savoy was the home of the D’Oyly Carte Opers Company and it was run by the Carte family for over a century. Richard’s son Rupert D’Oyly Carte rebuilt and modernised the theatre in 1929, and it was rebuilt again in 1993 following a fire.