THE SOUND OF MUSIC extends UK Tour into Autumn 2016
March 3, 2016  //  By:   //  News  //  Comments are off

Bill Kenwright’s production of one of the greatest family musicals of all time, The Sound of Music, is delighted to announce that the tour has been extended into autumn 2016. The tour recommences on Tuesday 18 May at the Aylesbury Waterside Theatre.

BBC1’s The Voice runner-up and award-nominated Lucy O’Byrne continues in the role of Maria in this spectacular five-star production.

Lucy O’Byrne became a household name when she shot to success as the runner-up in the live shows of the TV talent show. With chart-topper as her mentor, and biggest fan, Lucy made history as the first classical singer to reach the final, impressing the nation with her stunning vocal range. Now, having recently performed at the BBC Proms, she makes her musical debut as the young postulant, Maria. Her first album, Debut, is set to be released on 25 March.

Produced by Bill Kenwright, directed by Martin Connor, choreographed by Olivier Award winner Bill Deamer, musical direction by David Steadman, this wonderfully lavish staging of the classic musical coincides with the 50th anniversary of the film version – the most successful movie musical in history.

It all began with the story of the Trapp Family Singers and Baroness Maria von Trapp’s 1949 autobiography, which inspired Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II, Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse to create a Broadway musical in 1959. The Sound of Music tells the true story of the world-famous singing family, from their romantic beginnings and search for happiness, to their thrilling escape to freedom as their beloved Austria becomes part of the Third Reich at the start of WWII.

The unforgettable score features some of the most memorable songs ever performed on stage, including ‘Edelweiss’, ‘My Favorite Things’, ‘Do-Re-Mi’, ‘Climb Ev’ry Mountain’, ‘So Long, Farewell’ and of course, the title song, ‘The Sound of Music’.

Joining Lucy on stage are Duncan Smith (Max), Isla Carter (Baroness Elsa), Kane Verrall (Rolf), Annie Horn (Liesl), Zoe Ann Brown (Sister Margaretta), Kate Scott (Sister Berthe), Tammy Davies (Sister Sophia), Jude Neill (Ursula), Anouska Eaton (Baroness Elberfeld), Jon de Ville (Franz), Pippa Winslow (Frau Schmidt), Scott Ainslie (Admiral von Schreiber), Piers Bate (Baron Elberfeld) and Lewis Barnshaw. Further casting to be announced.

Photo: Mark Yeoman


Tuesday 18 – Saturday 21 May
Box Office: 0844 871 7607
Aylesbury, Waterside Theatre

Tuesday 24 – Saturday 28 May
Box Office: 0844 338 5000
Birmingham, Hippodrome

Tuesday 31 May – Saturday 11 June
Box Office: 01743 281281
Shrewsbury, Seven Theatre

Tuesday 14 – Saturday 28 June
Box Office: 01492 872000
Llandudno, Venue Cymru

Tuesday 21 – Saturday 25 June
Box Office: 0844 871 3022
Sunderland Empire

Tuesday 5 – Saturday 9 July
Box Office: 01252 625252
Blackpool, Opera House

Monday 11 – Saturday 16 July
Box Office: 01242 572573
Cheltenham, Everyman Theatre

Monday 25 – Saturday 30 July
Box Office: 01227 787787
Canterbury, Marlowe Theatre

Tuesday 2 – Saturday 6 August
Box Office: 0844 871 3023
Torquay, Princess Theatre

Tuesday 9 – Saturday 13 August
Box Office: 01872 262466
Truro, Hall for Cornwall

Tuesday 16 – Saturday 20 August
Box Office: 0844 576 3000
Bournemouth, Pavilion Theatre

Tuesday 23 – Saturday 27 August
Box Office: 01792 475715
Swansea, Grand Theatre

Tuesday 6 – Saturday 10 September
Box Office: 0844 871 3020
Oxford, New Theatre

Tuesday 13 – Saturday 17 September
Box Office: 01752 267222
Plymouth, Theatre Royal

Tuesday 27 September – Saturday 1 October
Box Office: 01322 220000
Dartford, Orchard Theatre

Tuesday 4 – Saturday 8 October
Box Office: 01902 429212
Wolverhampton, Grand Theatre

Tuesday 11 – Saturday 15 October
Box Office: 0116 233 3111
Leicester, De Montfort Hall