Evening Standard Theatre Award Winners Announced

ATT19491 1At tonight’s ceremony at The Old Vic the winners of the 61st Theatre Awards, given in partnership with The Ivy, were announced.

The star-studded event, co-hosted by owner of the Evening Standard Evgeny Lebedev with Judi Dench and Ian McKellen, and presented by Rob Brydon, attracted the biggest names in the theatre world. Guests included Gillian Anderson, Gemma Arterton, Shirley Bassey, Kate Beckinsale, Anne-Marie Duff, Ralph Fiennes, Maria Friedman, Richard E Grant, Salma Hayek, Lenny Henry, Jeremy Irons, Nicole Kidman, Adrian Lester, Lindsay Lohan, Pixie Lott, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, James McAvoy, Rufus Norris, Joely Richardson, Simon Russell Beale, Alex Sharp, Zoe Wanamaker, Dominic West, Ruth Wilson and Anna Wintour.

I shall share my thoughts on the winners in a blog post tomorrow but for those of you eager to know who won what now, here is all the news:

Seventeen years after making her London stage debut, Nicole Kidman received the Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress for her performance as Rosalind Franklin in Photograph 51at the Noel Coward Theatre. The Award for Best Actor was presented by Gillian Anderson to James McAvoy for his performance in The Ruling Class; and the award for Best Musical Performance went to Imelda Staunton for Gypsy. Staunton reprised her winning performance at the ceremony, singing Everything’s Coming Up Roses from the production.

In the new talent categories, Molly Davies received the Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright for God Bless the Child; the Emerging Talent Award in partnership with Burberry was won by David Moorst, for his role in Violence and Son – both at the Royal Court Upstairs; and the Newcomer in a Musical Award went to Gemma Arterton, for her musical theatre debut in Made in Dagenham at the Adelphi Theatre.

The Royal Court Theatre won in a third category – with Anna Fleischle’s design for the world première of Martin McDonagh’s Hangmen. This Sloane Square powerhouse came away from the night with the most awards for a single venue.

The award for Best Play went to The Motherf**ker with the Hat by Stephen Adly Guirgis – the only award won by the National Theatre from their seven shortlisted candidates. The production’s director, Indhu Rubasingham, collected on behalf of Adly Guirgis. In the Best Director category, Robert Icke received his first Evening Standard Theatre Award for Oresteiafrom Ruth Wilson and Dominic West. The production that opened the Almeida Greek Season recently completed its transfer run at the Trafalgar Studios.

The Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical, which was voted for by the public, went to Kinky Boots (with music and lyrics by Cyndi Lauper, book by Harvey Fierstein and directed Jerry Mitchell) currently runign at th Adelphi Theatre. Radio 2 presenter and musical theatre star Elaine Paige presented the award to the three stars from the show, Matt Henry, Amy Lennox and Killian Donnelly, with the winner announced live from The Old Vic on BBC Radio 2.

Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty, the blockbuster exhibition at the V&A, was named recipeint of the Beyond Theatre Award. Salma Hayek presented the award to McQueen’s Creative Director Sarah Burton, the show’s Sam Gainsbury, and the V&A Claire’s Wilcox and Nicholas Coleridge.

In addition tonight, the Editor’s Award, in partnership with The Ivy, was presented to veteran of the stage Vanessa Redgrave. She picked up her statuette from daughter Joely Richardson and shortlisted actor Ralph Fiennes.  Completing the evening, the Lebedev Award was presented by co-hosts Judi Dench and Ian McKellen to multi award-winning music legend Stephen Sondheim who celebrated his 85th birthday this year.

As well as Imelda Staunton performing Everything’s Coming Up Roses from Gypsy, Pixie Lott performed Moon River from the forthcoming production of Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which opens at the Haymarket Theatre Royal next year.

Urban Caprice, The Ivy’s events company provided the catering in collaboration with Gary Lee, Executive Chef at The Ivy.


Winners in bold

Best Actor:
        ● Simon Russell Beale, Temple, Donmar Warehouse
        ● Kenneth Cranham, The Father, Ustinov Bath, Tricycle & Wyndham’s Theatre
        ● Ralph Fiennes, Man and Superman, National Theatre’s Lyttelton
        ● James McAvoy, The Ruling Class, Trafalgar Studios

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress:
● Denise Gough, People, Places and Things, National Theatre’s Dorfman
● Nicole Kidman, Photograph 51, Noel Coward Theatre
● Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Nell Gwynn, Shakespeare’s Globe
● Lia Williams, Oresteia, Almeida Theatre & Trafalgar Studios

Best Play:
● The Motherf**ker with the Hat (Stephen Adly Guirgis), National Theatres Lyttelton
● Hangmen (Martin McDonagh) Royal Court
● The Father (Florian Zeller, translated by Christopher Hampton) Ustinov Bath, Tricycle & Wyndham’s Theatre

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director:
● Robert Icke, Oresteia, Almeida Theatre & Trafalgar Studios
● Jamie Lloyd, Assassins, Menier Chocolate Factory
● Indhu Rubasingham, The Motherf**ker with the Hat, National Theatre’s Lyttelton

Best Design:
● Anna Fleischle, Hangmen, Royal Court
● Tim Hatley, Temple, Donmar Warehouse
● Robert Jones, City of Angels, Donmar Warehouse

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright:
● Molly Davies, God Bless the Child, Royal Court Upstairs
● Alistair McDowall, Pomona, Orange Tree Theatre & National Theatre’s Temporary Space
● Diana Nneka Atuona, Liberian Girl, Royal Court Upstairs (Peckham & Tottenham pop up venues)

Emerging Talent Award in Partnership with Burberry:
● Calvin Demba, The Red Lion, National Theatre’s Dorfman
● Patsy Ferran, Treasure Island, National Theatre’s Olivier
● David Moorst, Violence and Son, Royal Court Upstairs<

Best Musical Performance:
● Katie Brayben, Beautiful, Aldwych Theatre
● Rosalie Craig, City of Angels, Donmar Warehouse
● Killian Donnelly, Kinky Boots, Adelphi Theatre
● Imelda Staunton, Gypsy, Savoy Theatre

Newcomer in a Musical:
● Gemma Arterton, Made in Dagenham, Adelphi Theatre
● Ellie Bamber, High Society, Old Vic
● Natalie Dew, Bend It Like Beckham, Phoenix Theatre

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical (voted for by the public):
● Assassins, Menier Chocolate Factory
● Beautiful: The Carole King Musical, Aldwych Theatre
● Bend It Like Beckham, Phoenix Theatre
● Gypsy, Savoy Theatre
● Kinky Boots, Adelphi Theatre<

Beyond Theatre – Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty
Editor’s Award – Vanessa Redgrave
Lebedev Award – Stephen Sondheim