Full cast announced for James Graham’s new play Ink

Sonia Friedman Productions and the Almeida Theatre have announced full casting for the West End transfer of Ink, written by James Graham (This House), which will play a limited season at the Duke of York’s Theatre from 9 September, following a sold-out run at the Almeida Theatre.

Directed by Rupert Goold (King Charles III), the returning cast includes Oliver Birch, Rachel Caffrey, Bertie Carvel, Pearl Chanda, Richard Coyle, Geoffrey Freshwater, Jack Holden, Justin Salinger, Sophie Stanton, Tim Steed, Tony Turner and Rene Zagger, with Jonathan Coy joining the company to play the role of Hugh Cudlipp. They will be joined on stage by Natalie Law, Andrew McDonald, Jonny McPherson, Owen Oldroyd and Joel Samuels who form the ensemble. Ink is designed by Bunny Christie, with lighting by Neil Austin.

Fleet Street. 1969. The Sun rises. A young and rebellious Rupert Murdoch asks the impossible and
launches The Sun’s first editor’s quest: to give the people what they want. No matter the cost.

Ink is James Graham’s Almeida Theatre debut. His work for theatre, television and film includes This
House, which had two sell-out runs at the National Theatre, and a run at the Garrick Theatre in the West End, was broadcast to cinemas internationally by NT Live and will tour the UK early 2018; Finding Neverland (book) on Broadway; Privacy and The Vote (broadcast live on television on election night 2015) at the Donmar Warehouse; Coalition for Channel 4; Monster Raving Loony for Theatre Royal
Plymouth and Soho Theatre, and The Whisky Taster at the Bush Theatre. He remains the writer in
residence at the Finborough Theatre. His first feature film X+Y for BBC Films was selected for the
Toronto International Film Festival and the London Film Festival before an international cinema release in Spring 2015. James has been commissioned to write a TV drama set around the events of the 2016 Referendum and a film adaptation of 1984.

Ink, a new play by James Graham plays at Duke of York’s Theatre 9 September 2017 – 6 January 2018. Click here to book tickets

Photo: Marc Brenner