James Dreyfus and more to star in Candide at Cadogan Hall

Candide Cadogan Hall

James Dreyfus (Notting Hill, The Thin Blue Line, Gimme Gimme Gimme) has been announced to return as central character Pangloss in Candide In Concert at Cadogan Hall, 7.30pm on 21st July.

He will star alongside previously announced Rob Houchen (Les Miserables, Spring Awakening) in the titular role of Candide. Other star names also confirmed include Louise Gold (The Mikado, Blood Brothers, Mamma Mia!, Gypsy), Michael Matus (Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown, The Phantom Of The Opera), Stewart Clarke (Easy Virtue, The Moonstone) as Maximillian, Anna O’Byrne (The Phantom of the Opera, The Magic Flute) as Cunegonde and Jessica Duncan (Les Miserables) as Paquette.

James Dreyfus said: “I am very excited to be joining The London Musical Theatre Orchestra for their evening at the Cadogan Hall, especially as it’s to revisit Dr Pangloss in Candide. To be surrounded by such talented young singers and musicians is very comforting! Can’t wait.”
Founder Freddie Tapner said: “For me, it is a dream cast for a dream show. Friday 21st July can’t come quickly enough.”

Featuring a score by legendary composer Leonard Bernstein that includes the legendary songs “Glitter and Be Gay”, “We Are Women”, “Nothing More Than This” and the epic “Make Our Garden Grow”, this performance of Candide in Concert heralds the start of next year’s Bernstein centenary celebrations.

Candide tells the story of Candide, the illegitimate cousin of Baron Thunder-Ten-Tonck. He is expelled from home, dragged into the Bulgarian army, brought before the Spanish Inquisition, swindled out of a fortune, shipwrecked on a desert isle, and separated from his true love Cunegonde. She also bears a barrage of misfortunes including sale into prostitution, forced marriage to an exorbitantly wealthy man and slavery. Through it all, however, they try to hold onto the lessons of their dear master Dr. Pangloss: “Everything is for the best in this best of all possible worlds.”

The full chorus includes: Will Arundell, Paul Bradshaw, Maeve Byrne, Charlotte Clitherow, Hywel Dowsell, Rhiannon Doyle, David Fearn, Benjamin Froehlich, Alice Gruden, Richard James King, Jerome Knox, Ben Mabberley, Chris McGuigan, Danielle Morris, Sophie Reeves, Jemma Revell, Rebecca Ridout, Jacob Robson, Lydia Shaw, Katie Shearman, Tim Southgate, Kieran Sutcliffe, Veronica Van Muyen, Lizzie Wofford.