Anna-Jane Casey joins the cast of MOTHER GOOSE replacing Mel Giedroyc

Anna-Jane Casey joins the cast of Mother Goose as Cilla The Goose with Mairi Barclay, Becca Francis, Shailan Gohil and Laura Tyrer also confirmed to join the company. Anna-Jane replaces the previously announced Mel Giedroyc.

They join the previously announced Ian McKellen as Mother Goose, John Bishop as Vic Goose, Oscar Conlon-Morrey as Jack, Simbi Akande as Jill, Sharon Ballard as Good Fairy Encanta and Karen Mavundukure as Evil Fairy Malignia. The cast is completed by Adam Brown, Gabriel Fleary, Richard Leeming and Genevieve Nicole.

A West End star for over three decades, Anna-Jane Casey was most recently seen as Fraulein Kost in the award-winning production of Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club. Her many other West End credits include Velma Kelly in Chicago, Mrs Wilkinson in Billy Elliot, Lady of the Lake in Spamalot, Anita in West Side Story, Rizzo in Grease, Buffy, Dinah and Pearl in Starlight Express and Rumpleteazer in Cats. She played Dot in Sunday in the Park with George at the Menier Chocolate Factory, Mabel in Mack and Mabel at the Watermill Theatre, for which she won the TMA Award for Best Performance in a Musical and the title roles in Piaf and Sweet Charity and Violet Butterfield in Flowers for Mrs Harris, all at the Sheffield Crucible.

It is written by Jonathan Harvey (Coronation Street, Gimme Gimme Gimme) and directed by award-winning director Cal McCrystal. Set and Costume design is by Liz Ascroft, Choreography by Lizzi Gee, Lighting design by Prema Mehta, Sound design by Ben Harrison and Puppet Design and Creation by Chris Barlow. Casting is by Anne Vosser and the Production Manager is Ben Arkell.

Mother Goose (McKellen) and her husband Vic (Bishop) run an Animal Sanctuary for waifs and strays and live a wholesome life inside an abandoned Debenhams. But when a goose (Casey) flies in, will fame and fortune get the better of them?! Will Ma’s feathers be seriously ruffled? Will Pa tell everyone to get stuffed?! And is their fair life about to turn fowl? Get ready for fairies with hefty vocal chords, puppets with tap dance qualifications and impeccably constructed mayhem that will quack up the whole family. This hilarious family-friendly mother of all pantos is the ultimate theatrical feast full of fun, farce and more than a couple of surprises that will make you honk out loud.

Saturday 3 December – Sunday 11 December 2022
Brighton Theatre Royal

Thursday 15 December 2022 – Sunday 29 January 2023
London, Duke of York’s Theatre

Tuesday 7 February – Saturday 11 February 2023
Chichester Festival Theatre

Tuesday 14 February – Saturday 18 February 2023
Sheffield Lyceum

Wednesday 22 February – Sunday 26 February 2023
Wolverhampton Grand Theatre

Tuesday 28 February – Saturday 4 March 2023
Liverpool Empire

Tuesday 7 March – Saturday 11 March 2023
Oxford, New Theatre

Wednesday 22 March – Sunday 26 March 2023
Dublin, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre

Tuesday 28 March – Saturday 1 April 2023
Cardiff Wales Millennium Centre