Stars come out for the first ever digital Mousetrap Theatre Awards
June 26, 2020  //  By:   //  News  //  Comments are off

Mousetrap Theatre Projects took its annual theatre awards online for the first time ever this year.

Winners were announced in a ceremony on Youtube on Wednesday 24th June. The ceremony was hosted by Mousetrap’s Youth Forum – the charity’s advisory committee of young people – from their own homes.

The Youth Forum also chose the nominees in the 14 original categories, including the ‘Big Little Stars’ award for young performers, and the ‘Saved The Day’ award for performers who swooped on-stage at the last minute to save their shows.

This year saw a record-breaking number of 15-29 year old theatre lovers cast their vote in the only UK theatre awards run and voted for by young people. Over 3,300 young people voted to crown their favourite shows and performances of 2019.

The Mousetrap Awards 2020 is available to watch below.

Mousetrap Theatre Projects is a theatre education charity dedicated to bringing the magic of theatre into the lives of disadvantaged young people. It takes around 12,000 young people to see top London productions each year and uses theatre as a catalyst to explore ideas, learn new skills, develop creativity and offer new perspectives through drama workshops in education and community settings.

And the winners are …

Watch This Face award
Winner: Sam Tutty as Evan Hansen in Dear Evan Hansen Sponsored by: Fiery Angel
Accepted by: Sam Tutty

Saved the Day award
Winner: Toby Marlow as Catherine Parr in Six
Sponsored by: Hope Kensington Foundation
Accepted by: Toby Marlow

Bring it Back
Winner: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Sponsored by: Concord Theatricals
Accepted by: Simon Stephens (Adapter)

Big Little Stars
Winner: Zion Gardner, John Madondo, Samuel O’Loughlin and Jay-Jay Prince as Simba in The Lion King
Sponsored by: Pros from the Shows
Accepted by: Zion Gardner, John Madondo, Samuel O’Loughlin and Jay-Jay Prince

Soundtrack of my Soul
Winner: Dear Evan Hansen
Sponsored by: Encore Radio
Accepted by: Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Writers)

Top Tech
Winner: Dear Evan Hansen for videography
Sponsored by: AKA
Accepted by: Peter Nigrini (Videographer)

Home Sweet Home
Winner: The Young Vic Theatre
Sponsored by: Adam Spiegel Productions
Accepted by: Kwame Kwei-Armah (Artistic Director)

Spectacular Set
Winner: & Juliet
Sponsored by: Dewynters
Accepted by: Soutra Gilmour (Set Designer)

Power of the Ensemble
Winner: Come From Away
Sponsored by: Nimax Theatres
Accepted by: Ricardo Castro and Emma Salvo (Ensemble)

Best Female Performer
Winner: Laura Baldwin as Dawn in Waitress
Sponsored by: Sonia Friedman Productions Ltd.
Accepted by: Laura Baldwin

Best Male Performer
Winner: David Hunter as Dr Pomatter in Waitress
Sponsored by: Musical Theatre International
Accepted by: David Hunter

Best Play
Winner: A Midusmmer Night’s Dream at the Bridge Theatre
Sponsored by: JHI Marketing
Accepted by: David Moorst (‘Puck’)

Best Musical
Winner: Dear Evan Hansen at the Noel Coward Theatre
Sponsored by: ATG
Accepted by: Sam Tutty and Rebecca McKinnis (‘Evan Hansen’ and ‘Heidi Hansen’)

Special Recognition for Outstanding Contribution to Theatre
Winner: Sir Ian McKellen
Sponsored by: Gordon & Co
Accepted by: Mousetrap Theatre Projects’ Youth Forum