Rula Lenska joins the cast of THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL

Rula Lenska, (ITV’s Rock Follies, Coronation Street, Channel 4’s Celebrity Big Brother) is the latest cast member to be confirmed for the upcoming tour of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. The Titian-haired star joins recently announced cast members Hayley Mills (Pollyanna, The Parent Trap, Whistle Down the Wind) and Paul Nicholas (Jesus Christ Superstar, BBC 1’s Just Good Friends, Eastenders) in this feel-good tale of love, adventure, and starting-over which starts a major new UK tour in Richmond this September.

Based on the Sunday Times bestseller which inspired one of this century’s most treasured films, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel takes us on a journey to India with an eclectic group of British retirees as they embark on a new life. The luxury residence is far from the opulence they were promised, but as their lives begin to intertwine and they embrace the vibrancy of modern-day India, they are charmed in unexpected and life-changing ways.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a joyous, feel-good comedy about taking risks, finding love and embracing second chances, even in the most surprising of places.

Based on Deborah Moggach’s 2004 novel These Foolish Things, the film The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (directed by John Madden) saw its UK theatrical release in 2012. Within two weeks of its cinematic distribution, the film had topped the UK Box Office and went on to become a hit internationally performing as one of the highest-grossing films of 2012 in Australia and New Zealand as well as the United Kingdom.

The interlinked stories of the film’s stellar ensemble, which included Judi Dench, Bill Nighy, Maggie Smith, Penelope Wilson, Tom Wilkinson, Celie Imrie and Ronald Pickup – with Dev Patel as the put-upon owner of a past-it-best hotel for ‘the elderly and beautiful’ – shone a light on issues such as the outsourcing of care and NHS treatments, the complexity of family relationships around the world, love, compassion and companionship in our twilight years.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – 2022 Tour Dates

Mon 5 – Sat 10 Sept Richmond Theatre, Richmond

Tue 13 – Sat 17 Sept Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield

Tue 20 – Sat 24 Sept Theatre Royal, Brighton

Tue 27 Sept – Sat 1 Oct Theatre Royal, Glasgow

Tue 4 – Sat 8 Oct Theatre Royal, Newcastle

Tue 11 – Sat 5 Oct Hall for Cornwall

Tue 18 – Sat 22 Oct Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Tue 25 – Sat 29 Oct Theatre Royal, Norwich

Tue 1 Oct – Sat 5 Nov Curve, Leicester

Tue 8 – Sat 12 Nov The Lowry, Salford

Tue 15 – Sat 19 Nov New Victoria Theatre, Woking

Mon 28 Nov – Sat 3 Dec Theatre Royal, Bath