Cast announced for the London production of SCHOOL OF ROCK

It’s been announced today that comedy star David Fynn will lead the London cast of School of Rock – The Musical as wannabe rock star Dewey Finn. He is joined by Florence Andrews as Rosalie Mullins, Oliver Jackson as Ned Schneebly and Preeya Kalidas as Patty Di Marco.

Based on the iconic hit movie and with a rocking new score by Andrew Lloyd Webber, School of Rock – The Musical follows slacker and wannabe rock star Dewey Finn turn a class of straight-A students into an ear popping, riff scorching, all conquering rock band! Dewey poses as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school to make ends meet, and when he discovers his fifth graders’ musical talents, he enlists his class to form a rock group and conquer the Battle of the Bands. As Dewey falls for the beautiful headmistress, can he and his students keep this special assignment secret as they learn to fully embrace the power of rock?

The ‘grown up’ cast is completed by Gary Trainor as the alternate Dewey with ensemble members Jonathan Bourne, Nadeem Crowe, Michelle Francis, Rosanna Hyland, Cassandra McCowan, Joel Montague, Andy Rees, Cameron Sharp, Tasha Sheridan, Andrew Spillett and Lucy Vandi and swings, Charlotte Bradford, Jason Denton, Cellen Chugg James, Alfie Parker and Charlotte Scott.

Based on the smash hit 2003 film of the same title, School of Rock features music from the movie, as well as new music written by Andrew Lloyd Webber with lyrics by Glenn Slater and a book by Julian Fellowes.

Best seats for £10.00 will be available every Wednesday evening an hour before curtain to purchase as part of the School of Rock – The Musical Student Rush scheme. These tickets will only be available in person from the New London Theatre Box Office.

The nationwide search to find the three teams of thirteen young performers took place earlier this year. The role of Zack will be alternated by Tom Abisgold, Toby Lee, and Jake Slack. The role of Freddy will be alternated by Bailey Cassell, Jude Harper-Wrobel and Noah Key. Giles Carden, Oscar Francisco and James Lawson will alternative the role of Lawrence. Selma Hansen, Lois Jenkins and Sophia Pettit will alternate the role of Katie. Isabelle Methven, Lucy Simmonds and Eva Trodd, will alternate the role of Summer. Leah Levman and Natasha Raphael will alternate the role of Marcy. Alternating the role of Shonelle are Jaydah Bell-Ricketts, Shoshana Ezequiel and Amelia Poggenpoel. Alternating the role of Sophia are Lola Moxom, Mia Roberts and Grace Schnieder. Alternating the role of Tomika are Nicole Dube, Amma Ris, and Adithi Sujith. Jobe Hart,  Joshua Vaughan and Logan Walmsley will alternate the role of Billy. Presley Charman, Lucas Chow  and Ben Dawson will alternate the role of Mason. The role of James will be alternated by Bradley Bissett, Denzel Eboji and Sonny Kirby. The role of Madison will be alternated by Zachary Dowlatshahi, Harry Egerton and Jacob Swann.

School of Rock will begin previews at the New London Theatre on 24 October 2016 with opening night on 14 November 2016, School of Rock – The Musical is initially booking to 12 February 2017.

Photo: Craig Sugden